March 8th, 2014 | Comments Off on Third Angle New Music Concert

May Kay is selected as one of the six finalists by the Third Angle New Ideas in Music Competition. Her string quartet ‘Dry Tears’ is to be premiered on 23 May 2014 in Portland, Oregon.



Posted in News
October 18th, 2013 | Comments Off on World Premiere of ‘The Nightingale’s Daughter’

‘The Nightingale’s Daughter’, a score written for female voice, sho and violin is going to be staged and performed by Shonorities Ensemble in Canterbury Festival on 2nd November, 2013.


Posted in News
June 5th, 2012 | Comments Off on Demise of the Cherry Blossoms

May Kay Yau’s orchestral piece, ‘Demise of the Cherry Blossoms’ is to be receiving its second performance on 15th October 2012 at the ACL Contemporary Music Festival¬†by the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra and conductor Frederic Chaslin at the Jerusalem Theatre . This year the ACL Festival is to be held in Jerusalem and Tel-aviv, Israel.


Posted in News
April 14th, 2011 | Comments Off on ‘Autumn Execution’

‘Autumn Execution’, a piece for voice and violin is scheduled to be performed by the Shonorties on 15 April in Athens, Greece.

Posted in News
October 26th, 2010 | Comments Off on Upcoming concert by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

‘Demise of the Cherry Blossoms’ will be premiered ¬†on the 26th November, 2010 in The Music Hall, Union Street, Aberdeen. It is a set of three musical poems depicting the scenery of late cherry blossoms: The Last Bloom – Fallen Petals – Pink Snow.

It will be performed by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of Russian conductor, Vassily Sinaisky.

Review by the Herald Scotland:

Posted in News
December 4th, 2009 | Comments Off on University of Aberdeen Music Prize

May Kay’s string trio “Vernarrtheit” has just won the University of Aberdeen Music Prize on 22nd Novemeber 2009. She is commissioned to write a piece for the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra which will be premiered in 2010 before being broadcast on BBC Radio 3.

Review in the Herald Scotland

Posted in News
November 13th, 2009 | Comments Off on Performance

String trio “Vernarrtheit” will be performed on the 22nd November 2009 by members of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in the University of Aberdeen Music Prize Gala Concert. There is an open rehearsal event (21st november 2009) prior to the performance.

21 NOV Sat 2:30 PM Aberdeen
University of Aberdeen Music Prize Open Rehearsal

22 NOV Sun 6:30 PM Aberdeen
University of Aberdeen Music Gala Concert

Posted in News